http://www.hebdos.net/lsc/edition482007/articles.asp?article_id=191640

 

Simonin wird seine Strafe in der Gemeinde absitzen

Sylvain Daignault

Im Dezember 2006 wegen sexuellen Missbrauchs einer Minderjährigen angeklagt – Taten, die zwischen 1985 und 1992 stattfanden – wurde Marcel Simonin, 67 Jahre alt, zur Zeit der Verbrechen ehemals Ältester der Zeugen Jehovas in Châteauguay, ist zu neun Monaten Gefängnis verurteilt worden. Er wird die Strafe in der Gemeinde absitzen.

Simonin erhielt sein Urteil vergangenen Mittwoch im Gerichtshaus von Châteauguay. Zu Anfang der Übergriffe war das Opfer -- ein kleines Mädchen – erst 11 Jahre alt.

Die Mutter des jungen Opfers traf die Person – er war damals Ältester, das heißt Unterweiser in Kirchenversammlungen – im Königreichssaal der Zeugen Jehovas in Châteauguay. Er lehrte Lebensgrundsätze und gab den Mitgliedern der Versammlung geistlichen Rat.

Nachdem er das Vertrauen dieser Frau und ihrer Tochter erlangt hatte, kam es zu mehrfachen sexuellen Kontakten mit der Heranwachsenden. Die Taten gingen von unsittlichen Berührungen bis zum eigentlichen Geschlechtsverkehr.

Acht Jahre lang fanden die Übergriffe an verschiedenen Orten statt; besonders im Haus des Beklagten, in seinem Auto, im Haus des jungen Mädchens und im Königreichssaal der Zeugen Jehovas in Châteauguay.

IIn ihrem Urteil bemerkte Richterin Linda Despots - von der Criminal and Penal Chamber of Court -, das Mädchen habe mit 16 oder 17 eine Beschwerde geführt, später aber die Anschuldigung zurückgezogen, "da sie sich von dem Ältesten, mit dem sie sich traf, und der Drohung mit einem Gemeinschaftsentzug unter Druck gesetzt fühlte".

Es war ein anderer Ältester aus der Gegend von Québec, wohin die Mutter und die Klägerin gezogen waren, der sie überzeugte, an die Ältesten der früheren Versammlung bezüglich ihrer Erfahrungen mit dem Angeklagten einen Brief zu schreiben.

Nach Erhalt des Briefes telefonierte Simonin mit dem Opfer, um sich für die Taten zu entschuldigen, nachdem er die Beschuldigungen zugegeben hatte. Angeblich hat ihm die Klägerin vergeben.

Doch als das junge Mädchen im Jahr 2003 den Beschuldigten bei einem Kongress der Zeugen Jehovas im Olympiastadion in Montréal wiedersah, riss seine Anwesenheit wieder alle Wunden auf, so dass sie das Schuldgefühl noch einmal erlebte, das sie hatte, als sie durch den Missbrauch zum Opfer wurde. Das junge Mädchen hatte dann einige schwierige Jahre, während derer sie dreimal einen Suizidversuch unternahm und sich in psychologische Behandlung begab.

Im Jahr 2005 beschloss das junge Mädchen, um die Therapie fortzusetzen und sich frei zu machen, wieder Klage gegen ihren Schänder einzureichen.

Da nach Meinung des Gerichts die Glaubwürdigkeit des Beklagten – der die Verbrechen weiterhin bestreitet – aus mehreren Gründen beeinträchtigt sei, befand das Gericht Marcel Simonin aufgrund des Artikels 246.1(1)a), 271(1)a) et 153(1)a) Strafgesetzbuch für schuldig.

Vor 1996 musste jemand, der einer Straftat schuldig war und zu weniger als 2 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt wurde, die Strafe im Gefängnis absitzen. Heute kann jemand mit einer Strafe unter zwei Jahren die Strafe in der Gemeinde abdienen, wenn das Gericht einen Verbleib im Gefängnis für unangemessen hält.

Le Soleil [d.h. die Reporterin] versuchte vergangenen Donnerstag vergeblich, den Königreichssaal der Zeugen Jehovas von Châteauguay zu erreichen, um eine Antwort zu erhalten. Offiziell sagen die Zeugen Jehovas, sie seien gegen Pädophilie.

silentlambs - It's time to protect children. It's time to stop being a silent lamb.
Home Assistance Personal Experiences Education Press Donate/Become a SL Member Sitemap silentlambs Store
Search

 

http://www.hebdos.net/lsc/edition482007/articles.asp?article_id=191640

 

Simonin will serve his sentence in the community

Sylvain Daignault

Found guilty in December 2006 of acts of sexual abuse of a minor – acts which took place between 1985 and 1992 – Marcel Simonin, 67 years old, formerly an Elder among the Jehovah’s Witnesses of Châteauguay at the time of the crimes, has been sentenced to serve nine months in prison. He will serve the sentence in the community.

Simonin received his sentence last Wednesday at the Châteauguay Court House. At the time of the initial incidents of assault, the victim – a young girl – was only 11 years old.

The mother of the young victim met the individual – who at that time was an Elder, that is to say that he was an instructor at church meetings – at the Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses in Châteauguay. He taught the precepts of their way of life and spiritually counseled members of the congregation.

After gaining the confidence of this woman and of her daughter, he proceeded to engage in multiple incidents of intimate contact with the adolescent. The incidents included improper touching to full sexual intercourse.

For eight years, the assaults took place in several locations; notably, in the defendant’s home, in his car, at the home of the young girl and in the Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses in Châteauguay.

In her verdict, Judge Linda Despots - of the Criminal and Penal Chamber of Court - noted that the victim had lodged a complaint at the age of 16 or 17, but later withdrew that complaint as “she felt pressured by the elders who met with her and by the threat of being disfellowshipped.”

It was another Elder, in the Québec region where the mother and the complainant had moved, who persuaded her to write a letter to the elders in the previous Congregation of Jehovah’s Witnesses concerning her experiences with the accused.

Following receipt of that letter, Simonin telephoned his victim to apologize for the events, after admitting to the accusations. The complainant, allegedly, then forgave him.

However, when in 2003 the young girl again saw the accused during a Convention of Jehovah’s Witnesses at the Olympic Stadium in Montréal, his presence re-opened her wounds and caused her to re-live the feeling of guilt that she experienced during the years when she had been victimized by the abuse. The young girl then had some difficult years during which she attempted suicide on three occasions and submitted herself to psychological treatment.

In 2005, in order to continue her therapy and to free herself the young girl decided again to file a complaint against her molester.

Deciding that the credibility of the accused – who has continued to deny the criminal charges – was, for several reasons, tainted, the Court found Marcel Simonin guilty of sexual assault by reason of Articles 246.1(1)a), 271(1)a) et 153(1)a) of the Criminal Code.

Before 1996, a person found guilt of a criminal offense and sentenced to a prison term of less than 2 years had to serve his custodial sentence in prison. Today, a person who is sentenced to a prison term of less than 2 years can serve that sentence in the community, if the court deems that a suspended remand to prison is inappropriate.

Le Soleil [i.e., the reporter] tried in vain to contact the Kingdom Hall of Jehovah’s Witnesses of Châteauguay last Thursday to obtain a response. Officially, Jehovah’s Witnesses say they oppose pedophilia.

 

 

 

Home | Assistance | Personal Experiences | Education | Press | Donations/Membership | Merchandise
Guestbook | Courage Awards | Newsletter | Contact Us | Affiliates | Sitemap
Copyright © 2003 by silentlambs.org. All rights reserved.