Mai 2007

 

 

Dein Kind hat heute versucht, dir etwas zu erzählen; hast du zugehört? Das, was es dir erzählen muss, wird dein Leben so ändern, wie es das seine geändert hat. Es wird seine Fähigkeit zerstören,. zu träumen, zu spielen, zu wachsen, normal zu sein.

 

´Dein Kind saß dir heute am Mittagstisch gegenüber, und während es mit dem Gemüse spielte, fürchtete es die Nacht, die kam, und das Monster würde sein Bett verlassen und in seines kommen. Oder es hat dich stumm gebeten, nicht in den neuen Film zu gehen und es mit dem lieben älteren Jungen allein zu lassen, der gern die Zeit mit ihm verbringt.

 

Wie wissen wir dies?   Wir waren dieses Kind.  Wir saßen am Mittagstisch den lieben Menschen gegenüber, wollten ihnen die Hand reichen und es ihnen erzählen.  Wir gingen lieb zu Bett und hatten Angst.  Wir versuchten, bei dir zu bleiben, anstatt zum Nachbarn nebenan zu gehen.  Wir haben uns in den Schlaf geweint und gedacht, dass wir allein und verlassen seien.

 

Du magst da sitzen und  dies lesen und bei dir denken, dass das meinem Kind nie geschehen könne. "Ich würde es wissen", denkst du.  "Ich passe auf. Wir sind nicht arm, mein Kind ist gut erzogen, und es würde kein Problem damit haben, es mir zu sagen."  Das ist das, was auch unsere Eltern dachten.  Nun haben sie mit Schuldgefühlen u tun wegen dem, was uns zustieß, direkt unter ihrem Dach oder direkt vor ihren Augen geschah.  Und sie haben es nicht gesehen.

 

Du hattest also ein Gespräch mit deinem Kind über das, was geschehen würde, wenn sich ein Fremder an es heranmachte, es bedeutet nicht, dass ihre Kusine oder oder der nette Junge ein Stück weiter auf der Straße vorbeikommt und dein Kind nicht gezwungen wird, Oralverkehr zu haben.  Aber du wirst tun müssen, was Gesetze in dieser Situation nicht können — dein eigenes Kind schützen.

 

Achte auf die Zeichen für Missbrauch.  Dein Kind wird es dir wahrscheinlich nicht direkt sagen, aber es mag sich zurückziehen, unter geringem Selbstwertgefühl leiden oder sogar entsetzliche Alpträume haben.  Die Auswirkung von Kindesmissbrauch wird es für den Rest ihres Lebens nicht verlassen. 

 

Vertraue deinen Gefühlen aus dem Bauch.  Achte auf Leute, bei denen du dich unwohl fühlst.  Sieh auf Leute, die übermäßig eifersüchtig auf dein Kind sind, die unpassendes Verhalten gegenüber deinem Kind zeigen oder, nicht "ganz richtig" in Bezug auf dein Kind handeln.  Wenn du stark einen Missbrauch vermutest oder ihn bestätigen kannst, entferne dein Kind sofort aus der Situation. 

 

Bis sexueller Missbrauch durch ein Familienmitglied, einen Freund der Familie, einen Lehrer, Trainer oder Pfadfinderführer aufhört, etwas zu sein, über das wir im Schatten flüstern, wird es weitere kleine Mädchen und Jungen wie uns geben.  Es wird Männer wie den geben, der zum Monster meiner Kindheit wurde. Sein Leben wird für immer beschädigt und befleckt sein. Es wird Kinder geben, die als Erwachsene hassen, Misstrauen oder Furcht vor Männern haben, und manche werden ihren Eltern nie vergeben.

 

Bitte tu etwas, sitz nicht nur da und habe Mitgefühl mit uns. Steh auf und such dein Kind und spreche mit ihm, ´führe ein Gespräch mit ihm, das es vor Dingen bewahren kann, die wir erlebt haben. Sag ihm, dass seine Genitalien ihnen gehören und sie die Kontrolle darüber haben können, wer sie berührt.  Dass sie Kontrolle über das haben, was sie tun.  Da die meisten Kinder auf Erwachsene hören,, stelle sicher, dass dein Kind weiß, dass es in Ordnung ist, "nein" zu sagen, wenn es sich bei etwas unwohl fühlt.  Tritt für strengere Gesetze bei Kindesmissbrauch ein. ´Denk daran, du bist sein Beschützer, seine Stimme.  Als du dein Kind geboren hast, hast du dir im Stillen geschworen, es zu beschützen.  Tue deine Aufgabe und stelle sicher, dass seine Kindheit so wunderbar ist, wie sie es sein sollte

 

Symptome von sexuellem Missbrauch als Kind:

 

  § Zurückgezogenheit

  § Mangelndes Interesse an normalen Tätigkeiten

  § Änderung des Appetits

  § Entwickelt bizarres Sexualverhalten

  § Zeigt niedriges Selbstwertgefühl

  § Hat Wunden oder Rötung an Genitalien und Mund

 

Symptome von sexuellem Kindesmissbrauch als Erwachsener:

    § Verherrlichung von Suizid oder Suizidversuche

    § Lügen

    § Stehlen

    § Magen-Darm-Störungen

    § Essstörungen

    § Schlafstörungen

    § Sexuelles Fehlverhalten

    § Chronischer Schmerz

 

Erschreckende Statistik

 

Diesen Brief überbringen dir 17 Frauen, die aus allen Teilen des Landes kommen, mit unterschiedlicher Vorgeschichte und Erziehung. Wir wollen uns nicht mehr schämen und Angst haben. Wir werden endlich wütend, wenn wir erkennen, dass dies heute immer noch vor sich geht und doch niemand Notiz zu nehmen scheint. Jeder ist betroffen über die Sextäterliste, Verbrecher im Internet und die Gefahr durch Fremde.  Aber die Leute verstehen nicht, wie sehr Missbrauch in ihren eigenen Häusern und in der Nachbarschaft geschieht.  So haben wir beschlossen, aufzustehen und diesen Mädchen und Jungen zu helfen, damit ihr Leben nicht völlig ohne Möglichkeit der Wiederherstellung zerstört wird. Wenn ein kleine Mädchen oder ein Junge gerettet wird, ist es das wert.


Danke, dass du uns zugehört hast, jetzt hör auf dein Kind.

      

      Sue Johnston, 51: South Salt Lake, Utah; missbraucht mit vier vom Bruder der Freundin und mit 8 oder 9 vom Freund des Bruders.

      Lori, 23: Ames, IA; missbraucht von Grundschullehrer

      Tanya, 39: Denver, CO, Alter 4-18, Stiefvater

      Summer: Wichita, KS; missbraucht vom Schwager im Sommer 1989

      Christina: Trevor, WI; jahrelang von ihrem Bruder missbraucht

      Jeannie, 35: Round Lake Beach, IL: Alter 5, Freund der Mutter, Lake Villa, IL

      Susan, 58: Pontiac, Michigan; Alter 5, vom Vater

      Mary Jane, 41: Santa Rosa, Ca; Alter 4, vom bei der Mutter lebenden Freund, sie wusste es

      Sheryl Fournier, 22: Warren, Mi, 10, von einem Freund der Familie

      Heidi, 33; Utah/Idaho; viele Jahre lang vom eigenen Vater und von Nachbarsjungen missbraucht.

      Anne, 57, British Columbia, Alter 5 bis 12, missbraucht von einer Anzahl von Männern und Jungen 

      Ashlee 22, Connecticut, Alter 7-14, vom Stiefbruder  

      Kim, 49: Collinsville, IL, vom Onkel, Alter 2; wiederholt von Fremdem auf Spielplatz, Alter 9; vom Stiefvater, Alter 13-18.

      Name Withheld, 27; Athens, GA, Alter 2-18, vom Vater

      Angela, 32, Owosso, MI, Stiefvater und Stiefbruder

      Kim, Kalifornien, vom Vater missbraucht.

      Dee 49, Massachusetts, Vater, Alter 4 bis 14

 

       

    Quellen:

      1. Abel, Gene und Harlow, Nora. Stop Child Molestation. Xlibris Corp., 2001.

      2. Briere, J.,  Eliot, D.M. Prevalence and Psychological Sequence of Self-Reported Childhood Physical and Sexual Abuse in General Population: Child Abuse and Neglect, 2003, 27 10

      3. Finkelhor, D., H. Hammer, und A.J. Sedlak, Sexually assaulted children: National estimates and characteristics, in Juvenile Justice Bulletin. In press, Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention: Washington, D.C. http://www.unh.edu/ccrc/factsheet/pdf/CSA-FS20.pdf

      4. Hanson, R.F., Resnick, H.S., Saunders, B.E., Kilpatrick. D. G., und Best, C. (1999). Factors related to the reporting of childhood sexual assault. Child Abuse and Neglect, 23,559-569

      5. Medem: Medizinische Bibliothek, Webseite http://www.medem.com/index.cfm

silentlambs - It's time to protect children. It's time to stop being a silent lamb.
Home Assistance Personal Experiences Education Press Donate/Become a SL Member Sitemap silentlambs Store
Search

 

May 2007

 

 

Your child tried to tell you something today, did you listen? The something that he or she needs to tell you will change your life as it has changed theirs. It will destroy their ability to dream, to play, to grow, to be normal.

 

Your child sat across the dinner table from you today and while they played with their veggies, they dreaded that night was coming and the monster would be leaving your bed and getting into theirs. Or they mutely asked you not to go out to that new movie and leave them with the sweet older boy who loves spending time with them.

 

How do we know this?   We were that child.  We sat across the dinner table from our loved ones, wanting to reach out and tell them.  We meekly went to bed afraid.  We tried to stay with you instead of going to the next door neighbor's.  We cried ourselves to sleep, thinking that we were alone and abandoned.

 

You might be sitting there reading this, thinking to yourself that it could never happen to my child. "I would know," you think   "I pay attention. We are not poor, my child is well educated, and she/he would have no problem telling me."  That is what our parents thought, too.  Now they are dealing with the guilt over what happened to us, happened right under their roofs or right in front of their eyes.  And they didn't see it.

 

So, you had a talk with your child about what to do if approached by a stranger, it doesn't mean that every time his/her  cousin or the nice boy from down the street comes over your child isn't forced to do oral sodomy.  But you will have to do what laws in this situation can't—protect your own child.

 

Watch for the signs of abuse.  Your child will probably not directly tell you, but may become withdrawn, suffer from low self-esteem, or even have horrible nightmares.  The impact of child abuse will follow them for the rest of their lives. 

 

Trust your gut feelings.  Pay attention to people who make you feel uncomfortable.  Watch for people who are overly jealous of your child, inappropriate with your child, or seem to not act "quite right" in regards to your child.  .  If you strongly suspect or confirm abuse, remove your child from the situation immediately. 

 

Until sexual abuse by a family member, family friend, school teacher, coach, or scout leader stops being something we whisper in the shadows about, there will be more little girls and boys like us. There will be men like the one who became the monster of my childhood. Their lives will be marred, stained forever. There will be children who grow up to be adults who hate, distrust or fear men and some that will never forgive their parents.

 

Please, do something, don't just sit there and feel sorry for us. Get up and go find your child and have a conversation with them, have a talk that might save them from having the life we have had. Tell them that their private parts are theirs and they can have control over who touches them.  They have control over what they do.  Since most children listen to adults, make sure your child knows it is ok to say "no" when they feel uncomfortable with something.  Lobby for stricter laws in cases of child abuse. Remember, you are their protector, their voice.  When you gave birth to your child, you made a silent oath to protect him/her.  Do your job and ensure that their childhood is as wonderful as it should be.

 

Symptoms of sexual abuse in a child:

 

  § Withdrawn

  § Lack of interest in regular activities

  § Change in appetite

  § Develops bizarre sexual behavior

  § Exhibits low self-esteem

  § Has bruising or redness in genitals or mouth

 

Symptoms of child sexual abuse as adults:

  • Depression
  • Repeated self injury

    § Suicide ideation and/or attempts

    § Lying

    § Stealing

    § Gastrointestinal distress

    § Eating disorders

    § Sleep disorders

    § Sexual dysfunction

    § Chronic pain

 

Frightening Statistics

  • As Many as 1 out of ever 3 girls and 1 out of every 7 boys will be abused in their childhood
  • About 90-95% of abuse is committed by someone your child knows.
  • There are 3 million children being abused right now in the United States alone
  • 88% of the cases are never reported to authorities.

 

This letter is being brought to you by 17 women, who come from all parts of this country, with different backgrounds and education. We are tired of being ashamed and afraid. We finally got angry when we realized that it is still going on today, yet no one seems to notice. Everyone is concerned about the sex offenders list, predators on the internet, and/or stranger danger.  But people don't understand how much abuse is going on in their own homes and neighborhood.  So we decided to stand up and help these girls and boys, so their lives are not completely damaged beyond repair. If one little girl or boy is saved it is worth it.


Thank you for listening to us, now listen to your child

      

      Sue Johnston, 51: South Salt Lake, Utah; abused at age 4 by girlfriend's brother and 8 or 9 by brother's friend.

      Lori, 23: Ames, IA; abused by elementary school staff member

      Tanya, 39: Denver, CO, age 4-18, stepfather

      Summer: Wichita, KS; molested by brother-in-law the summer of 1989

      Christina: Trevor, WI; abused for years by her brother

      Jeannie, 35: Round Lake Beach, IL: age 5, mom's boyfriend, Lake Villa, IL

      Susan, 58: Pontiac, Michigan; age 5 by father

      Mary Jane, 41: Santa Rosa, Ca; age 4 by mothers live in boyfriend, and she knew

      Sheryl Fournier, 22: Warren, Mi 10 by family friend

      Heidi, 33; Utah/Idaho; abused for many years by my own father and two neighbor boys.

      Anne, 57, British Columbia, age 5 to 12 abused by a number of men and boys 

      Ashlee 22, Connecticut, ages 7-14 by step-brother  

      Kim, 49: Collinsville, IL, molested by uncle age 2; repeatedly molested by playground stranger age 9; molested by step-    

        father age 13-18.

      Name Withheld, 27; Athens, GA, age 2-18 by father

      Angela, 32, Owosso, MI, Step-father and Step-brother

      Kim, California, molested by my father when young.

      Dee 49, Massachusetts, father ages 4 to 14

 

       

    References:

      1. Abel, Gene and Harlow, Nora. Stop Child Molestation. Xlibris Corp., 2001.

      2. Briere, J.,  Eliot, D.M. Prevalence and Psychological Sequence of Self-Reported Childhood Physical and Sexual Abuse in General Population: Child Abuse and Neglect, 2003, 27 10

      3. Finkelhor, D., H. Hammer, and A.J. Sedlak, Sexually assaulted children: National estimates and characteristics, in Juvenile Justice Bulletin. In press, Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention: Washington, D.C. http://www.unh.edu/ccrc/factsheet/pdf/CSA-FS20.pdf

      4. Hanson, R.F., Resnick, H.S., Saunders, B.E., Kilpatrick. D. G., and Best, C. (1999). Factors related to the reporting of childhood sexual assault. Child Abuse and Neglect, 23,559-569

      5. Medem: Medical Library, website http://www.medem.com/index.cfm

 




Home | Assistance | Personal Experiences | Education | Press | Donations/Membership | Merchandise
Guestbook | Courage Awards | Newsletter | Contact Us | Affiliates | Sitemap
Copyright © 2003 by silentlambs.org. All rights reserved.